Photorama 2012


The gallery will be open to pick up work during regular gallery hours (Tuesday – Friday, 12:00 – 5:00 pm). UPDATE: Additional pick up hours have been added on Saturday, January 19, 26 and February 2, 12:00 – 5:00 pm. Please try to pick up work before February 2 as our space is limited.

Collectors Preview Thursday, November 29, 6:00 – 9:00 pm
Opening Reception Friday, November 30, 6:00 – 9:00 pm

Sale continues Saturday, December 1, 12:00 – 6:00 pm
Tuesday, December 4 – Saturday, December 8 12:00 – 6:00 pm

This year marks the 26th anniversary of Gallery TPW’s annual Photorama fundraising exhibition featuring over 70 artists exhibiting contemporary photography and lens-based work. Photorama has become one of the most successful seasonal art sales in the city, and this year’s selection will not disappoint. Photorama 2012 is open to the public from November 30 – December 8, 2012 with an exclusive Collectors Preview on November 29th, 6:00 – 9:00 pm.

Photorama features work by some of Canada’s most accomplished artists and promising young photographers. With most works priced below $600, Photorama offers seasoned collectors and first-time buyers alike the opportunity to buy limited edition photographs and artwork. Each sale from Photorama directly assists with the operations and programming at Gallery TPW, while also supporting local artists and culture in Toronto.

Highlights at Photorama 2012 include works by some of Canada’s most esteemed photographers such as Edward Burtynsky, Robyn Cumming, Chris Curreri, Toni Hafkenscheid, Geoffrey James, Annie MacDonell, Geoffrey Pugen and a new piece by Carole Condé and Karl Beveridge.

On Thursday, November 29th, 6:00 – 9:00 pm Gallery TPW invites Collector Members to attend an exclusive Collectors Preview of Photorama 2012. Collector Members are given first opportunity to purchase art works before Photorama opens to the public. Collector Memberships can be purchased online for $75 at or by contacting the gallery at 416.645.1066. Photorama opens to the public on Friday, November 30th, 26, 6:00 – 9:00 pm with an opening reception.

Photorama is Gallery TPW’s major annual fundraising event featuring artists selected by Gallery TPW’s Board of Directors. Photorama 2011 was among the most successful years ever, with sales exceeding $56,000. Nearly $21,000 was paid out to artists in sale fees and $30,000 was raised in direct support of the gallery’s programming and operations. This year, Gallery TPW hopes to raise $40,000 towards the support of its innovative programming and community building events.

About Gallery TPW

Gallery TPW is an artist-run centre dedicated to the presentation and critical investigation of contemporary lens and screen-based art. We have moved into our new temporary location at 1256 Dundas West (at Dovercourt). Branded as TPW R&D, our new project space is a transitional and flexible space for shared research and the development of critical discourse. The gallery’s programs address the vital role that images play in contemporary culture and explore the exchange between photography, new technologies and time-based media. Gallery TPW facilitates critical discourse through its exhibitions, screenings, live events, public discussions and commissioned critical writings.


November 30 – December 8
Collectors Preview:
Thursday, November 29th, 2012, 6:00 – 9:00 pm
Opening Reception: Friday, November 30th, 2012, 6:00 – 9:00 pm
Sale continues: Saturday, December 1, 2012, 12:00 – 6:00 pm
Tuesday, December 4 – Saturday, December 8, 2012, 12:00 – 6:00 pm

Admission to Photorama is FREE.


The Photorama 2012 line-up includes: Nadia Belerique, Mark Belvedere, Cecilia Berkovic, Alyssa Bistonath, Jesse Boles, Kotama Bouabane, Jack Burman, Edward Burtynsky, Jamie Campbell, Robert Canali, Maryanne Casasanta, Jennifer Cherniack, Miles Collyer, Carole Condé and Karl Beveridge, Lyndsey Cope, Robyn Cumming, Nathan Cyprys, Erika DeFreitas, Eshrat Erfanian, Elle Flanders and Tamira Sawatzky, Tori Foster, David Frankovich, Elisa Julia Gilmour, Brenda Goldstein, Toni Hafkenscheid, Osheen Harruthoonyan, Lee Henderson, Chris Ironside, Jesse Jackson, Laurie Kang, Ruth Kaplan, Dave Kemp, Tania Kitchell, Karen Kraven, Joe Lepiano, Nina Levitt, Elaine Ling, Marc Losier, Morris Lum, Annie MacDonell, Virginia Mak, Dyan Marie, Hugh Martin, Abby McGuane, John Monteith, Andrew B Myers, Michelle O’Byrne, Susy Oliveira, Frances Patella, Steve Payne, Mark Peckmezian, Liss Platt, Geoffrey Pugen, Susana Reisman, Darren Rigo, Eugen Sakhenko, Chris Sheppard, Meera Margaret Singh, Dave Trautrimas, Lizzie Vickery, Lisa Visser, Ellyn Walker, Don Weber, Matthew Williamson, and Elise Windsor

Media Contact: Gary Hall
416-645-1066 /

* Please note that not all submitted work is available to be seen online. The aforementioned list includes all artists that are participating in Photorama 2012 and is updated regularly.

Comments are closed.